How to Reset Nest Thermostat: The Only Guide You Need

how to reset nest thermostat

Having a Nest Thermostat can make your home feel a lot more comfortable and great to live in. You can set up all your personal settings, and your Nest Thermostat will learn what temperatures you like and give you a customized experience.

Having this Nest Thermostat not only makes your home feel like your own slice of heaven, but you also get to save energy. In addition, the Home/Away Assist can automatically adjust itself to the Eco temperature once you leave the house.

Today, we’ll look at how to reset Nest Thermostat and give you all the tips you need.

How Do You Reset A Nest Thermostat?

Google Nest Thermostat - Smart Thermostat for Home - Programmable Wifi Thermostat - Snow
  • ENERGY STAR certified smart thermostat for home that helps you save energy and stay comfortable
  • The Nest Thermostat is designed to work without a C wire in most homes, but for some systems,...
  • Nest Thermostat turns itself down when you leave, so you don’t waste energy heating or cooling an...
  • Programmable thermostat that lets you create an energy efficient schedule in the Google Home app on...
  • Remote control lets family members change the thermostat temperature from anywhere on a phone,...

Before you embark on the reset process, jot down your current settings. This will allow you to restore them if you want to quickly. So, how do you do this?

Go to Settings Equipment and take down your system wiring information, heating type, and Safety Temperature settings.

Once you’re done, you can follow these simple steps.

  1. Open the Quick View Menu by pressing your Nest Thermostat ring.
  2. Select the Settings icon.
  3. Turn the Nest Thermostat ring to Reset and press to select it.
  4. Choose the setting you want from the choices available.

Here are the types of reset settings you can choose from. Let’s go through them so that you know can know when to use which setting when.

What are the 5 Reset Settings for Nest Thermostat?

1. Restart

When you restart your Nest Thermostat, you won’t lose any information or previous settings from your Nest Learning Thermostat. Think of this process as the same way you restart your computer, tablet, or smartphone.

When you put it back on, you still have all your information and personal settings. You can do this for an unresponsive Nest Thermostat.

2. Schedule

This Google Nest Thermostat setting will erase any previous temperature schedules you’ve set. So whether you manually input the schedules or chose the auto-schedule function, using this reset setting will erase your schedules.

You can choose this reset type if the seasons have changed or you’ve got back home from a long period away. This will enable your Nest Thermostat to follow the changing times.

Note that if you’ve set your Nest Thermostat unit to control your hot water, resetting the schedule will also remove any schedule you’ve set for your hot water. You’ll have to set up the hot water schedule again.

3. Away

If you choose to reset your Nest Thermostat using this method, all the learned information accumulated by your Nest account will be erased. For example, your smart home Thermostat learns how many times you walk by to enable your connected devices to switch automatically.

You can use this setting to reset the Nest Thermostat after you remodel your home, or you move your Thermostat to a new location in your home. Expect your Thermostat to collect information again after a couple of days.

4. Network

When you select reset for the network, you will remove all the network information. Your Thermostat will forget the Wi-Fi password and disconnect from the Wi-Fi network.

To reconnect it, you’ll need to connect it back to the network by choosing your Wi-Fi network from the settings icon. You can choose this reset setting when you have a new router in your home.

5. All Settings

This is the factory reset of your Nest Thermostat. You can use this setting to reset your Nest Thermostat when moving out of your house or into a new house.

It will remove all your personal information and leave the Thermostat bare for someone else to input their personal settings.

You can also use this Nest setting when you get a new HVAC system or upgrading your old system.

When Should You Reset Nest Thermostat?

We’ve looked at the various settings that you can use to reset your Nest Smart Thermostat. Here are some of the instances that you may need to undertake the resetting process.

  1. When moving out of your house. Doing a factory reset will prevent you from leaving all your personal information on the Thermostat.
  2. When moving into a new house. If the previous tenants did not do a factory reset, you’ll need to do one to input your own information.
  3. After installation of a new HVAC system. You may also need to reset your Nest Thermostat to factory settings to set it up with your new HVAC system. A factory reset should do.
  4. After getting a new Wi-Fi router. If you’ve changed your Wi-Fi network, this will allow you to have an easier time instead of trying to transfer your previous settings.
  5. When you want to change your entire temperature schedule.

What’s the Difference Between Restart and Reset?

1. Nest Thermostat Restarting

When you choose to restart your Nest Thermostat, you will maintain your current settings and collected information.

You can think of this process the same way you restart your computer, tablet, or phone. When it comes back on, you’ll still have everything as it was before you chose to restart your Nest Thermostat.

Restarting is a great troubleshooting step if your Thermostat is stuck or has trouble connecting to the Wi-Fi network.

2. Nest Thermostat Resetting

The reset option clears information from your Nest Thermostats. The amount and type of information cleared depend on the reset type you choose from the menu icon.

You can use this reset option when you want to clear your personal information from your Nest Thermostat, when you’ve installed a new HVAC system, or when you want to change your temperature schedules.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. What is the difference between Nest Thermostat and Nest Thermostat E?

Nest Thermostat E only has a frosted display that gives you the temperature indoors. On the other hand, Nest Thermostat has a full-color display and Farsight.

Farsight is a feature that tells the time, weather conditions, and temperature from across the room.

2. How do I connect my phone to my Nest?

Download the Nest app. Once you have the Nest app installed, ensure that your phone is connected to the same network as the Nest Thermostat and sign up for a Nest account.

You’ll need to enter your email address and create a password for your Nest account. Once your Nest account is all set up, you’re good to go.